Unusual Design Questions

The Tank Unusual Design Questions

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    The_AV8R
    Participant

I’m a student who has been asked to design a 3000 L (+/- 792 gallon) hot water tank for a friend. I’ll describe the project a bit, and then I’ll ask my questions. If anyone has the time to chip in their $0.02, it would be very much appreciated!

The main purpose of the tank is to use the lower heat exchange coil of glycol, from solar (a max of 8000W), to heat the water so that the upper coil of water may go out to heating pipes under his floor. In the summer, with the higher energy supply and lower heating demand, he would also like to use water from this tank for personal use such as showers, etc.

To top it all off, this tank is to be made of fibreglass, so I won’t need a sacrificial anode, among other design reasons.

My questions are :

– For a 7′ tall, 4.5′ diameter tank, would I need a short diptube for outgoing hot water? I know it’s a silly question, but I am still unsure of how the hot water actually leaves the tank. I’d love to take one apart to find out, but alas, I can’t.

– What are the risks of corrosion and sediment buildup in such a tank? What do I need to incorporate to limit this?

– Where can I find different heat exchanger coil manufacturers?

– I know it is best to pre-form each hole needed in the 3/8″ fibreglass, but what is the best way to create them once it’s made? Drilling? Puncturing? Would any fibreglass experts out there recommend any special gaskets?

Thanks for reading, guys. I hope you can help me out. I’ll be happy to clarify anything.

Ej
    Participant

Your biggest problem will be obtaining a pressure tested approval rating. Do a search on fiberglass pressure vessels.

The_AV8R
    Participant

Thanks for the reply, EJ.

The tank won’t be under pressure, and on the rare occasion that the water within it will be used for personal use, it will be pumped into the smaller general use tank.