State 510E Electric from 1991 – Duron?

The Tank State 510E Electric from 1991 – Duron?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    skrol
    Participant

Hi, I am a noob posting here but have been scouring the forums for information.

I have a State 510E (Model PV 66 20RT 8 F) from 1991 that recently started spewing brown water. My immediate thought was, RUST! But thanks to this web site I determined that it was sediment by doing a flush. Still concerned about tank rust, I put a magnet in the sediment that came out. Nothing stuck to it, therefore, no rust.

While I had the tank drained I thought I’d check a few other things, also thanks to this site.

I was going to check the anode but there is no hex head on the top of my water heater. I even looked under a plastic cap on the top. I figured I’d pull the top heating element and inspect the tank and look for an anode. The tank looks pretty good from what I could see. I still did not see an anode. What I did see was the dip tube broken off and lying on the bottom. I am guessing that it has recently broken off and stirred up the sediment.

I still have a little brown water when high demands are placed upon the water heater (bath, shower, laundry operating at the same time). I also start to run out of hot water more quickly due to the dip tube.

I contacted State via email about the water heater and the lack of an anode. They said that I have a Duron tank and it does not have an anode? They invited me contact the parts department to order a new dip tube.

Apparently some State Duron tanks had a lifetime warranty. However, I read that there was a class action settlement for the Duron units manufactured between 1994 and 2000. Mine was mfg Oct. 1991.

Now I am stuck between repairing my unit or replacing it. It is 19 years old but if the tank is good then it makes sense to repair. Crystal Ball anyone?