Help on a PVP-40E-1A

The Tank Help on a PVP-40E-1A

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Autoxrs
    Participant

Before I begin my post:
    #1: A great site. Visited for information, and always seem to find it.
    #2: A noob here!

Consider myself a handy DIY. Water heater with the subjected model is showing the following symptoms (unit is ~10-12 years old): Won’t start.

I have done the following:
    1. Check breaker and it is not tripped.
    2. Removed the vent motor. Cleaned out the fins and motor body. Minimal dirt.
    3. Reconnected vent motor to extension cord and it works.
    4. Removed what appears to be a vacuum tube on top of the unit (connects to vent motor), blown through it, and sucked on it to remove any particles. Airflow is clear. It seems easier to suck on the tube than blow on it.
    5. Last time this happened, wiped and vacuumed out the burner plate (unit worked after that).

Issue has happened about 5-6 times in the last 9 months. Prior times, carrying out steps 2-4 resulted in the unit firing back up, albeit, the last time I had to let her sit overnight (no power, gas line turned off).

Any recommendations on what to try next? Or should I just replace the unit. In which case, any recommendations?

Thanks a million in advance for the assistance!

SnowyNorth
    Participant

Is it a standing pilot unit or hot surface ignition? What is make and type of gas control valve? This link has some technical bulletins that may help troubleshoot.

http://www.rheem.com/WHTechBulletins.aspx?Category=PowerVent

Autoxrs
    Participant

SnowyNorth, thanks for your response.
    I will review the TSBs when I have a chance to tear into the unit some more tomorrow.
    In the interim, to answer your questions:
    (a) Honeywell Intermittent Spark Pilot Control (Honeywell S8600M).
    (b) Gas Valve – Honeywell (see pic).

Thanks for your help thus far.

Attached files

Ej
    Participant