G.E. gas water heater

The Tank G.E. gas water heater

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    lesander
    Participant

Help! I’m going in circles here! I have a high volume master bath with a Jacuzzi Tub, and a large walk-in shower. All fixtures have 3/4 supply lines. There are two new 50 gallon tanks directly above the bath, plumbed parrallel so both tanks feed into the 3/4 line at the same time. These are G.E. 50 gal. 40,000 BTU from Home Depot that were installed mid 2009. Both tanks together only supply about 20 gallons of hot water before running warm then cool. The thermostat is set to 120. VERY HOT. The water temp into the tub is 120 degrees for about 3 minutes then begins to cool down quickly. I have checked the supply lines. They are correct. The dip tubes are intact (new heaters) the pilot and flame are functioning correctly. The thermostat lights the flame shortly after the water flow begins and heats the water for about 45 minutes after the water is shut off. It is as though the cold water is mixing with the hot and cooling it down. When the heating cycle is complete and there is no water flow, even the cold water supply lines are hot from the water in the tank. No matter how high the temp is set, the hot water supply is very short. Both heaters are doing the same thing. I have isolated each of them with the same result. Aside from the dip tubes being bad (they are not), nobody seems to know the answer. What am I missing?
    Are the tanks baffled, so that there is only hot water in part of the tank? Is there a false reading in the thermostat? The plastic dip tubes are 30″ long and go about 1/2 way down into the tank. They are intact with a spiral fitting at the end to “swirl” the water coming in G.E. tech was no help and referred me to Home Depot Service.
    The old heaters were plumbed the same way and worked fine untill they rusted out.

Thanks,

Randy Schuyler
    Keymaster