Anode rod, what fits what?

The Tank Anode rod, what fits what?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

I have a Ctaftmaster 40 gal tank that is about 5 years old and would like to check/change the anode. How do I find out what tank takes what rod? Installed many a tank, but have never ventured into the anode hole before. Thanks

Randy Schuyler
    Keymaster

It has a hex anode in its own port. You could replace it, if need be, with my SKU8 or SKU10. The second is a flexible anode for low clearance.

Randy Schuyler

Thanks, Randy. Now don’t laugh, but aside from length, will most tanks accept the same anodes? I mean, are they more or less interchangeable when dealing withajor brand tall 40 gal tanks? Install are easy, repairs are not as benign as I am learning. All the tanks i am dealing with were purchased from either Lowes or Home Depot. Thanks again.

Randy Schuyler
    Keymaster

Provided they are residential-type tanks, yes. Sometimes RV tanks and such get a little weird. Anything from Lowes or Home Depot will have a hex anode.

Randy Schuyler

So, let get this crystal clear: a hex-head will fit a hex-head. There’s no special diameter or special order possibilities? Got my 1/2″ impact gun,my 1-1/4″ impact socket, and a can of Blaster ready to go.

Randy Schuyler
    Keymaster

You got it.

Randy Schuyler

Larry Weingarten
    Participant

Hello: All good except that the hex head needs a 1- 1/16th inch socket. I’d get a six point socket just to be sure it won’t round the corners of the old anode. 😉 Also, I don’t know what “Blaster” is, but if it is some sort of solvent or rust dissolver, I wouldn’t use it, as you don’t want ANY chemicals getting into your water. 😯

Yours, Larry

Thanks again. I had been under the impression that each tank manufacturer had their own specific anode rod. I didn’t realize any hex head will fit any tank. I mean a 3/4″ hex head. But does rod diameter matter when replacing the anode?

Randy Schuyler
    Keymaster