Air Intake Problem

The Tank Air Intake Problem

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    gitch414
    Participant

Thank you for your website. This is my first time here and I have already added to my do-it-yourselfer knowledge base. But I do not see my problem covered in a brief check of previously posted topics.

We installed a 40 gallon LP water heater about four years ago (Richmond, which I believe is a Rheem offshoot,) in an old country home with well water and a tiny poor-excuse-for-a-basement. This heater has been flooded four or five times in the past two years. That issue was resolved when I installed a sump pump. But the damage has already been done.

The burner assembly is in good shape, considering this abuse. The pilot light starts easily, but it has to be manually lit with a lighter as the sparking device is worn out.

The problem is that there is no air getting to the burner through the bottom. Today I removed the burner assembly. There is a sort of screen or grate under the burner. Sticking out of the screen is a short metal rod. When the rod is pushed I can hear and feel some kind of door open up underneath, but I can’t see it. I assume this opens the air intake and if I could push down on this while the burner was active I would have no problems, other than third degree burns on my hand.

Details, details.

The only way I can keep the burner active is to loosen the assembly from its seating and let air in around the screws. Yes, I can see you reeling in horror. I don’t much like it myself. But right now I’m between jobs and can’t afford to replace the heater or bring in a highly paid professional.

My instinct is to pick a day where I can afford to cut of LP to the house (as I said, it’s an old house and the cutoff valves are not especially well placed,) drain the heater, lay it down and do whatever I have to in order to clean the intake.